Mammography

Mammography is the most important examination method for the early detection of breast cancer - the most common type of cancer in women. The earlier tumors in the breast are detected, the higher the chances of a successful treatment. Digital mammography is an X-ray examination with a very low radiation dose. It is used both to detect breast tumors that are not yet palpable and to further clarify clinical symptoms such as lumps, hardening or pain.

Advantages

  • Minimum radiation dose: The radiation dose is up to 50 percent lower compared to other systems
  • Excellent resolution and image quality: critical to microcalcification discovery
  • Diagnosis on high-resolution screens with the possibility of magnification
  • Time-independent double diagnosis based on the four-eyes principle
  • Can also be carried out after plastic surgery
  • Storage of the images in the digital archive

FAQ

How does a mammography examination work?

During this examination, the breast is slightly compressed (not as strong as with older mammography machines), then images are taken of each breast in two planes. The digital images are stored in our image archive and are therefore always available for comparison.

Does the exam cause pain?

The compression of the chest can be a bit uncomfortable, but the examination does not take long. We recommend hormonally active women to arrange an examination in the second week of the cycle, as this is when the breast is the least sensitive.

When and how often should the mammography be performed?

As part of the new breast cancer early detection program, women between the ages of 45 and 70 are invited by letter every two years to have a preventive mammography. Between the ages of 40 and 44 and from the age of 70, women have the option of requesting an invitation to a preventive mammography by calling the hotline 0800 500 181 or online at www.frueh-erkennen.at.

Can the mammography be performed earlier?

In the event of corresponding clinical complaints or suspicious findings (palpated lump), the examination is possible (with a doctor's referral) at any time earlier.

In addition, if there is an increased familial risk of breast or ovarian cancer, the examination should be carried out every year.

Is the mammography a risky examination?

With two exposures per breast, the radiation dose corresponds to around ten percent of the natural radiation exposure to which we are on average exposed in Austria each year. With regular mammography examinations, cancers are detected in the curable stage. Since breast cancer is the most common type of cancer in women, there would be a far greater risk not to have the exam.

What must be considered before an examination?

We recommend hormonally active women to have the mammography performed in their second week of their cycle; For women without a cycle, the examinations can be arranged at any time. No creams or powders may be used on the day of the examination. Please make sure to inform us before the examination whether you are possibly pregnant.

If pictures and findings from previous examinations, operation reports or histological results are available, please bring them with you to the mammography.

Additional examinations

Breast sonography

Ultrasound examination of the breast: is carried out in our ordination in addition to every mammography

Make an appointment for an examination

MRI and CT Institute | Surgery Dr. Christian Frisch
  • Gaalerstraße 2a, 8720 Knittelfeld, AUSTRIA

  • Tel.: +43 3512 843 43
  • Fax: +43 3512 843 75
Opening hours institute & surgery
  • Monday & Wednesday:

    07.30 am - 04.30 pm

  • Tuesday, Thursday & Friday:

    07.30 am - 01.00 pm

© 2020 Institut für bildgebende Diagnostik Knittelfeld GmbH & Röntgenordination Dr. Christian Frisch | Konzept & Umsetzung: Eyecatcher Werbeagentur

Mammografie

Die Mammografie ist die wichtigste Untersuchungsmethode zur Früherkennung von Brustkrebs – der häufigsten Krebsart bei Frauen. Je früher Tumore in der Brust erkannt werden, desto höher sind die Chancen für einen guten Behandlungserfolg. Die Digitale Mammografie ist eine Röntgenuntersuchung mit sehr niedriger Strahlendosis. Sie dient sowohl der Erkennung von Tumoren der Brust, die noch nicht tastbar sind, als auch der weiteren Abklärung von klinischen Symptomen wie Knoten, Verhärtungen oder Schmerzen.

Vorteile

  • Minimale Strahlungsdosis: Die Strahlendosis ist im Vergleich zu anderen Systemen um bis zu 50 Prozent geringer
  • Hervorragende Auflösung und Bildqualität: entscheidend zur Entdeckung von Mikrokalk
  • Befundung an hochauflösenden Bildschirmen mit der Möglichkeit der Vergrößerung
  • Zeitunabhängige Doppel Befundung im Vier-Augen-Prinzip
  • Durchführung auch nach plastischen Operationen möglich
  • Speicherung der Bilder im digitalen Archiv

FAQ

Wie läuft eine Mammografie Untersuchung ab?

Die Brust wird bei dieser Untersuchung etwas zusammengedrückt (nicht mehr so stark wie bei alten Mammografie- Geräten), dann werden von jeder Brust Aufnahmen in zwei Ebenen gemacht. Die digitalen Bilder werden in unserem Bildarchiv gespeichert und sind somit immer zum Vergleich verfügbar.

Verursacht die Untersuchung Schmerzen?

Die Kompression der Brust kann etwas unangenehm sein, die Untersuchung dauert allerdings nicht lange. Wir empfehlen hormonell aktiven Frauen einen Untersuchungstermin in der zweiten Zykluswoche zu vereinbaren, da die Brust dann am wenigsten empfindlich ist.

Wann und wie oft sollte die Mammografie durchgeführt werden?

Im Rahmen des neuen Brustkrebs-Früherkennungsprogramms werden Frauen zwischen dem 45. und 70. Lebensjahr per Brief alle zwei Jahre zur Vorsorgemammografie eingeladen. Zwischen dem 40. und 44. Lebensjahr sowie ab dem 70. Lebensjahr haben Frauen die Möglichkeit, telefonisch unter der Hotline 0800 500 181 oder online auf www.frueh-erkennen.at eine Einladung zur Vorsorgemammografie anzufordern.

Kann man die Mammografie auch früher durchführen?

Bei entsprechenden klinischen Beschwerden oder Verdachtsbefunden (ertasteter Knoten) ist die Untersuchung mit ärztlicher Zuweisung auch jederzeit früher möglich.
Außerdem bei erhöhtem familiärem Risiko auf Brust- oder Eierstock-Krebs, sollte die Untersuchung im 1. Jahre- Abstand durchgeführt werden.

Ist die Mammografie eine riskante Untersuchung?

Die Strahlendosis entspricht bei zwei Aufnahmen pro Brust etwa zehn Prozent der natürlichen Strahlenbelastung, der wir in Österreich im Durchschnitt pro Jahr ausgesetzt sind. Durch regelmäßige Mammografie-Untersuchungen werden Krebserkrankungen noch im heilbaren Stadium erkannt. Da Brustkrebs die häufigste Krebsart bei Frauen ist, wäre es ein weitaus größeres Risiko, auf die Untersuchung zu verzichten.

Was muss vor einer Untersuchung beachtet werden?

Wir empfehlen hormonell aktiven Frauen die Mammographie in ihrer zweiten Zykluswoche durchführen zu lassen; bei Frauen ohne Zyklus können die Untersuchungen zu jedem Zeitpunkt vereinbart werden. Am Untersuchungstag dürfen keine Cremen und kein Puder verwendet werden. Informieren Sie uns bitte unbedingt vor der Untersuchung, ob Sie möglicherweise schwanger sind.

Sollten Bilder und Befunde früherer Untersuchungen, Operationsberichte oder histologische Ergebnisse vorliegen, bringen Sie diese bitte unbedingt zur Mammografie mit.

Ergänzende Untersuchungen

Mamma-Sonografie

Ultraschalluntersuchung der Brust: Wird in unserer Ordination ergänzend zu jeder Mammografie durchgeführt.

Vereinbaren Sie einen Untersuchungstermin

MRT und CT Institut | Ordination Dr. Christian Frisch
  • Gaalerstraße 2a, 8720 Knittelfeld, AUSTRIA

  • Tel.: +43 3512 843 43
  • Fax: +43 3512 843 75
Öffnungszeiten Institut & Ordination
  • Montag & Mittwoch:

    07.30 - 16.30 Uhr

  • Dienstag, Donnerstag & Freitag:

    07.30 - 13.00 Uhr

© 2020 Institut für bildgebende Diagnostik Knittelfeld GmbH & Röntgenordination Dr. Christian Frisch | Konzept & Umsetzung: Eyecatcher Werbeagentur